GitLab allows Owners to set a project's visibility as:
These visibility levels affect who can see the project in the public access directory (
for your GitLab instance). For example, https://gitlab.com/public.
Public projects can be cloned without any authentication over HTTPS.
They are listed in the public access directory (
/public) for all users.
Any signed-in user has the Guest role on the repository.
/public is visible to unauthenticated users. However, if the
Public visibility level
/public is visible only to signed-in users.
Internal projects can be cloned by any signed-in user except external users.
They are also listed in the public access directory (
/public), but only for signed-in users.
From July 2019, the
Internal visibility setting is disabled for new projects, groups,
and snippets on GitLab.com. Existing projects, groups, and snippets using the
visibility setting keep this setting. You can read more about the change in the
Private projects can only be cloned and viewed by project members (except for guests).
They appear in the public access directory (
/public) for project members only.
Change project visibility
- Go to your project's Settings.
- Change Visibility Level to either Public, Internal, or Private.
Restrict use of public or internal projects
You can restrict the use of visibility levels for users when they create a project or a snippet. This is useful to prevent users from publicly exposing their repositories by accident. The restricted visibility settings do not apply to admin users.
For details, see Restricted visibility levels.